Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Programme Opportunities


The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Programme is a great opportunity for students from developing Commonwealth countries to pursue postgraduate studies in the United Kingdom. The programme is funded by the UK Department for International Development and administered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK. It offers full or partial scholarships for Master’s degrees in a variety of subjects, with a focus on development-related subjects. The application process for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Programme is competitive, and successful applicants will be awarded a scholarship that covers tuition fees, living expenses, and airfare.

Eligibility Criteria for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

There are a few things you should know about the eligibility requirements for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Programme. To be eligible, you must:

  • Be a national of a Commonwealth country (other than the UK).
  • Have completed an undergraduate degree with at least a 2:1 or equivalent.
  • Have a good command of English, demonstrated by an IELTS or TOEFL test.
  • Be willing to return to your home country after completing your studies.
  • Meet any additional requirements set by your chosen university.
  • Have a first degree with an excellent academic record.
  • Be able to show evidence of commitment to working in a field related to development.
  • Be committed to return to your home country after the end of your studies.

Some universities may have additional requirements, such as a certain GPA, so be sure to check with the university you are applying to. If you meet these requirements, you can begin the application process by contacting your chosen university and submitting of your application.

How to Apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

The application process for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship is multi-step and can take some time to complete. The first step is to research and select the universities and courses you are interested in. Once you have narrowed down your choices, you can then begin the application process.
You will need to complete an online application form and submit supporting documents such as your CV, transcripts, and letters of reference. Be sure to check the specific requirements for each university as they may vary. The application process can take several months, so be sure to start early. Once your application is complete, you will need to submit it to the university directly.

Once you have submitted your application to the university, they will review it and make a decision on whether to offer you a place on the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship. If you are successful, you will be notified by the university. You will then need to secure a visa and make arrangements for your travel and accommodation. It is important to note that you will be required to live in university accommodation for the duration of your studies.


The first step is to decide which universities and courses you are interested in. There are many Commonwealth Shared Scholarship opportunities available, so take some time to research your options. You can start by visiting the Commonwealth Scholarships website. This website has a search tool that allows you to filter by country, subject, and degree level. It also has a list of universities that offer Commonwealth Scholarships.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *